• Tel +44 (0)7860 602334
  • Email

Merlyn in 2014

It seems no time at all since the end of the 2014 HSCC season and the 2015 season is with us already.

Merlyns had excellent results in both the Historic Formula Ford races at the first 2015 meeting at Thruxton with Ben Mitchell winning both races, Max Bartell finishing 2nd in race 1 and 3rd in race 2 and novice Richard Mitchell finishing 2nd in race 2.

Sadly Merlyn lost two very good friends during 2014. Jonathan Williams, who raced a Formula Junior Merlyn and an F2 Merlyn died in hospital in Spain and Denis Welch who had such great success with the MK5 Junior Merlyn in historic racing died as the result of a racing accident. Both were lovely people and will be sadly missed by us all.

Although it wasn’t a Merlyn driver who won the HSCC Historic FF Championship in 2014, Max Bartell managed second place in the Championship and Merlyn drivers had plenty of success throughout the season. Michael O’Brien winning at Silverstone and Brands Hatch, Max Bartell at Snetterton, Sam Mitchell both at Cadwell Park races and Callum Grant at both Croft races and Brands Hatch Indy.

Congratulations to Jono Baines who won the 2014 HSCC Classic Car Championship in his MK20 Merlyn Formula Ford.

Early in the season Callum Grant won both 2014 Thruxton Formula Junior races in great style in the MK5 Merlyn now owned by Jon Sykes. In doing so he regained the lap record for Merlyn. This record had been held previously for many years by this same car whilst driven by Mike Littlewood.

Copyright Colchester Racing Developments Ltd